Speakers Back to Speakers


Richard Leplastrier

Richard Leplastrier was the Australian Institute of Architects 1999 Gold Medallist, he was recipient of the 2009 Dreyer Foundation 'Prize of Honour' in Denmark and he was recipient of the 2004 'Spirit of Nature Wood Architecture Award' in Finland, other recipients include Renzo Piano, Peter Zumthor, Kengo Kuma, José Cruz Ovalle and Bijoy Jain. In 2009 Richard was elected an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, in 2011 he received the Australian National Honour 'Order of Australia' for distinguished service to architecture and as 'an educator and mentor', and he has received an Honorary International Fellowship of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2015. Richard Leplastrier is a Professor at the University of Newcastle Australia and is one of the principle ‘masters’ on the Architecture Foundation Australia master classes.